The L Word

Posted: July 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

love-Favim_com-467195

What is that L word that many find so easy to say?  While many others find it EXTREMELY hard to say.  Love.  What is love?

According to the Webster Dictionary…

LOVE-

NOUN

an intense feeling of deep affection:

a deep romantic or sexual attachment to someone:

a great interest and pleasure in something:

affectionate greetings conveyed to someone on one’s behalf.

a person or thing that one loves:

VERB

feel a deep romantic or sexual attachment to (someone)

like very much; find pleasure in:

Although this definition is a sum up of what love is,

love is something even better than what this definition says.

God’s definition of love is so much better than any human on this earth can give. We may think that the feeling we have is the most powering emotion we will ever encounter. And you are right! If used in the right way. A lot of people rush so quickly to say Love. They have the butterflies of excitement when two people see each other, they think about that person at all times of every day and night, they will do ANYTHING to keep that person from not loving them. Sometimes people change their whole character to have that person “love” them. This is God’s definition of what love is…

god

1 CORNINTHIANS 13: 4-8 (NKJV)

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails.

  1. Love suffers long and is kind-  Meaning Love is patient and kind.  Patient!  Yep, God said if you are to love you will be patient.  MEANING- You will be patient on when to say it and also after you say it.  You will be patient with every decision the two of you make.  And He says to be kind also.  Sometimes its hard to be kind when things don’t go “our” way.  That doesn’t mean that we take it out on each other.  If we have something going on we need to be understanding and listen to one another.  And as your listening recite James 1:19 in your head because there will be times when you don’t like the conversation you are having.

 gods-love

  1. Love does not envy or boast-  Envy and boasting is something us humans do.  We like the acknowledgment in the things we have accomplished.  We like recognition in things we have achieved.  This is my opinioned example of why God said not to boast.  Husband comes home from work and is ecstatic to tell his wife his news.  Husband is not aware of what kind of day his wife has had.  As they sit at the dinner table that his wife just prepared, he begins to tell her about his meeting at work and they finally noticed him in the board room.  They are thinking about using his idea and he is just flabbergasted about it.  His wife is excited for him but not showing the same enthusiasm that he is showing.  He starts to argue with her instead of asking how her day went.   Thus, leading into an argument only because he wanted some glory.  Envy is a big word for us humans as well.  Sometimes us mothers envy the family we see that works together to get things done, they pick each other up, support each other in everything, and the mom seems like she has it all together.  First off I want to say; NO SHE DOESN’T.  The support from her family is what makes her seem to have everything together.  Us mothers tend to see the positives in others while we are only looking at the negative in ours.  We need to stop comparing our negatives to everyone elses positives.  Each and every mother has several positives; it may not feel like it but those mothers are envy of you as well.  We all need to Love not envy each other.  Learn from one another instead of sitting back and criticizing because it “looks” like she has it “all together”.

 2. Love does not parade itself-  Love is not arrogant or rude.  I see this a lot in sports.  I am a huge sports nut.  I use to watch MLB, NFL, and NBA all the time.  Constantly watching ESPN.  Now, I see so many arrogant players that I have lost interest.  Not to mention the officiating is terrible.  I see a team on the court, field and then I find that one arrogant player that thinks the only reason they are in the finals is because of him.  It takes a team; not just one to make it happen.  (Go play golf or tennis and then we will talk. LOL) With the arrogance comes with being rude.  No one is good with someone being cocky.  Going up near someone and saying “Ah, did you see that shot?”  is just plain rude.  No one wants to play or be a part of that.  How is that showing love?  We should show respect to one another.  We should not get rude with another player even if yourself is better.  Be respectful.

love-never-fails3

3.  LOVE NEVER FAILS-  Our love for each other should never fail one another.  If a love is so strong like these verses; there would be no failure.  We should love our spouses with unconditional love.  Is it hard at times?  YES!  Is it doable?  YES!  It takes time.  It takes patience.  It takes faith.

god love

At the beginning of mine and my husbands relationship (second marriage). I had no clue what Love actually was. My first marriage was good but something was always missing. I felt empty. All we did was watch and play sports. Which I loved but the love in the marriage was not there. When my husband now came into my life; I freaked out. He was passionate, loving, caring, forgiving, kind, not rude, and my list could go on and on. At first, I didn’t understand what it was all about. I thought it was a game he was playing with me. I thought of all kinds of things that were negative because I thought he was setting me up to hurt me. It had been 4 years since my last marriage and I wasn’t ready. But, this is the time of my life when I found the Lord and came to know what real Love actually was. My husband was VERY patient and EXTREMELY FORGIVING! I think about all the things I put him through that were unloving and wonder why he stuck around. I put him through a lot that no one even knows. (That will be another blog, lol) Things that I am not proud of but it was things that I learned from and found out who my heavenly Father is and how much He loves me. I had a lot of empty in my heart. I was one who LOVED easy. I could NOT love anyone. I fell in love easy with a lot of different men. But, it was all a game they were playing. So, when my husband came along I was at a point where I was playing the game back to hurt them. My husband wasn’t even a part of the game before, but I added a new player. But, with his patience and his forgiveness; I would not be where I am now. Loving life, Loving husband, and Loving God.

Enjoy this song!! Be blessed with God’s love! It NEVER FAILS!!

CHRIST IS TRUE LOVE!!

Leave a Reply

