And the award goes to…

Posted: April 8, 2015 in Life

“Nor of men sought we glory, neither of you, nor yet of others, when we might have been burdensome, as the apostles of Christ.” 1Thessalonians 2:6(KJV)

I can’t think of one person who is not at least a little bit competitive.  We all crave some kind of fame.  Whether it be 15 minutes or a lifetime.  Our human nature is full of selfish acts, that it is hard to not want the attention from doing something that could have an award with it.

reward

When I was younger, I wanted to be the stand out, scholarship winning, parent wishing I was their child superstar.  I was taught to be the best you can be and work your butt off doing it.  It was in my genes.  My father was a all star athlete.  My mom was in the dance part of band.  And they both stood out amongst all the other students.  I was told don’t cry about anything.  Suck it up and move on was our motto.

work harder

Now, I want my days where people see me and know that I am a Christ follower.  I want people to automatically say, “She is a Christ follower!” when they hear my name.  I don’t want the glory from sports anymore.  Yes, I still will do my best.  But, sports is not a priority to me.  God has become something that I thrive for.  I compete to be the best Christ follower I can be.  I want people to remember me as being on fire for God.  I want them to remember where my love and passion went first.

you are more

And the Christ Follower Award goes to…

Colossians 3:23-24-And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;  Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.

I remember being younger playing sports and I wanted to do my best to impress my daddio when he was able to come watch me play.  It is the same with my Heavenly Father.  I want to impress Him so that He says these words to me from the book of Matthew when I am no longer here on this earth.

Matthew 25:21– “His Lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy Lord.”

reward1

I can not wait to see my heavenly Father.  But, I don’t want to disappoint Him either.  We are eager to not wanting to disappoint our parents.  We don’t want to disappoint because we know what follows behind that if we do.  Punishment!  This is why I want to obey my heavenly Father.  I remember my dad whipping my butt for getting in the pond after he told me not to.  After that I was determined not to get my butt whipped again.  We feel that punishment but my heavenly Father’s punishment is much worse if you don’t obey Him.  But, remember that even if you do mess up (which we all do daily)  God is such a forgiving Father.  All you have to do is admit you were wrong and try everything in your power NEVER to do that sin again.  Think about the reward you will receive for doing your best for our Lord.

reward3  reward2

I can’t wait to be with my heavenly Father for eternity.  I hope to see you there and meet you worshipping God and enjoying no pain, no suffering, no heartache, no depression, no crimes, no guilt.  Just glorious, endless love with beautiful scenery that we can not even fathom here.  That is the reward I am thriving for!!!

Leave a Reply

