April Fools!

Posted: April 1, 2015 in Life

 

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of His might.  Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.”

Ephesians 6:10-12

prank

It was the best April Fools joke ever!  At least my sister and I thought so when we plotted it out.  My sister lives in Wisconsin along with the rest of my moms side of the family.  At the time I was living in Indiana.  I called my sister up and we started plotting a April Fool’s joke on our mom.  (We try and do this every year, and sometimes not on April Fool’s because she would know).  We talked about my sister just having enough of it up in cheese land and moving back to Indiana.

One April first I called mom asking her what is wrong with Shellie (my sister).  My mom said, “She didn’t seem like nothing is wrong?  Why?”  I proceeded to tell mom that my sister just called me crying and said she had enough of things.  My automatically hung up the phone and called Shellie.  Shellie played along and didn’t answer the first 100 times that my mom tried to get through to her.  Finally, Shellie picked up the phone.  Shellie was with a saddened voice told mom she was moving back to Indiana.  She just couldn’t take it anymore up in Wisconsin.  After about a couple hours of going back and forth with mom. We finally told her, “April Fool’s!!!”   I know it was terrible!  We laughed so hard! But Mom didn’t seem to think it was quite so funny.  Let’s just say out of “respect” we have not fooled her like this again.

It can be fun to play harmless pranks on people.  Especially on days like today.  But when it comes to the devil trying to fool us, it’s no laughing matter.  Even though Jesus won the war with the devil when He died and rose again, satan is still trying to fool God’s people.  He hopes to be the last one standing after the Second Coming.

What does he want?  He wants you.  He wants you to follow him and not Jesus.  He wants you to believe you’re not good enough for Jesus to love.  He wants you to get discouraged when your prayers aren’t answered the way you want.  He wants you to think that being a Christian is boring.  He wants you to think that God’s rules are too strict.  He wants you to think that God is too busy for you.  He wants you to give in to temptation and sin.

keep calm

Don’t let the devil fool you!  It’s Jesus-not satan-who loves you.  It’s Jesus who have His life for you!  It’s Jesus who’s preparing a place for you with Him!  The devil hasn’t done a single thing for you– except to bring you temptation, heartaches, pain, and hopelessness.  JESUS has done EVERYTHING for you.  He’s not out to destroy you, but to SAVE you.  AND I’m not foolin’!!

god loves you

Words inspired by He’s got your back by Nancy Canwell

Leave a Reply

