James 1:1-4

Posted: March 5, 2015 in Life

James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, to the twelve tribes which are scattered abroad. Greetings.  My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations.  Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

James starts off saying that he is a servant of God.  Not an apostle, not a brother of Jesus, not anything about his family; only a servant of God.  What does servant mean?  Servant is defined as a devoted and helpful follower or supporter.  He starts off stating what he is on this earth for.  James is a devoted and helpful follower and supporter of our Heavenly Father.

james

With that said… Can you call yourself a servant of God AND of the Lord Jesus Christ?  Are you going throughout your day making sure you are glorifying God?  Or you going throughout your day worried about your friend, spouse, boyfriend, school, bills, work, etc.?  Are you worried to have to please this list rather just pleasing the One and Only, JESUS!  I bet we can all make a list of what we are a servant for.  We can put God on that list but is there really words to put with that?  It should ONLY have GOD on our list.  Why do we feel we can not live a day without hurrying and getting to our phones, checking our emails, going to the store, etc.?  Why does it seem like that is the only thing that keeps us “alive”?  To break it down… Your phone is NOT going to get you to heaven, your email is NOT going to help you get rewarded for your good works, your shopping is NOT going to help you stay right with God.  I say this because I see so many people rely on these things to “live”.  We should be servants of God and God alone.  We should be putting our phones down and thinking about what God wants us to do today.

Inspiring-Quotes-04

Next, James talks about the twelve tribes that are scattered abroad.  Who are these twelve tribes?  I have done some research and I have came up with the Commonwealth of Israel.  Which is made up of both Jews and Gentiles who had been made into one nation through the blood of the Messiah.  But, there were some problems in the Commonwealth which made James feel the need in his heart from God to write to them.  Thus, the book of James.

Then we get into verses 2-4…  James tells us to count it all joy when we are faced with different kinds of issues. WHAT?  You know how much stuff I put up with in a days time?  Dirty house, laundry, dogs, meals, bills, car needs fixed, school work needs attention, husband needs his wife, kids need my time. And the list can go on and on.  But, as a homemaker, I am faced with making sure everyone is happy and things are in order.  Sometimes I wonder where my “happy” time is.  I bust my butt around the house daily and I get nothing in return.  But, when someone else does things around the house you better make sure that you say something in order for them to WANT to do it again.  UGH! Yes, we all have those days.  But, count it ALL JOY!!  I should be joyful for the roof over my head to stay out of the cold/hot weather.  I should be joyful for clothes to wash; that means I am blessed with clothes to keep me warm and covered.  I should be over joyed with the bills; this means that I was able to have something I would need/want (electricity, heat, air, phone, internet, car, house).

Verse 3 says “Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.”  Eek.. I would love to have more patience.  I’m sure a lot of us would.  Sometimes it is extremely hard. But with us facing our trials through God we will have faith.  We will see these things differently through God’s eyes.  Not as a burden to HAVE to do chores or pay the bills.  We look at it all as a gift from God.  We would not have clothes on our backs if it was not for God.  We would not have the house to stay out of the cold if it were not for God.  God provided us with these items in our life.  We should be more grateful for them rather than be hasty towards the bills and such we do have.

And verse 4 says, “But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”  I don’t know about you but, there is a lot of things in life that I want.  But, what is on your “want” plate?  Is it for your kids to grow up and be better at life than yourself?  Is it a better marriage?  Is it less debt?  There are a million things us humans want in life.  But, one thing is for sure; the one thing that we do need is JESUS!

Jesus is what will make your worry go away.  Jesus is the one that will help you have a better marriage.  Jesus is the one that will make your laundry feel like a gift instead of a burdened chore.  Jesus will help you see your bills as a blessing He gave you instead of a waste of money (depending on your bills, I am not talking about credit card debt that you maxed out. I am talking about electricity and such things we need for a house and such.)  If you do have credit card debt and that is a burden, Yes, Jesus can help you through that.  But, you have to listen to Him to get right with your spending.

All in all we need to get right with God.  We need to be able to pray and ask God for help.  He may lead you to someone who can help you.  What are you waiting for?  Start right now and ask God to forgive you for your worries.

inspirational-quotes-inspiring-quotes-potential-quotes-inner-voice-quotes-you-are-not-a-burden-you-have-a-burden-which-by-definition-is-too-heavy-to-carry-on-yoru-own

Pray with me..

Dear Heavenly Father,

You are almighty!  You are my strength that I need when burdens come my way. Please forgive my selfish acts of not feeling blessed with what You have provided me with.  I have a roof over my head, I have electricity, I have food and yet my soul seems unsatisfied because I have not thanked You for all these gifts.  I don’t want to look at these things as a burden, for if I did I would be telling  You that Your gifts You have provided with are a burden to me.  How ungrateful I must be.  And how hurtful that must feel toward You.  Lord I thank you for my home, food, bills and chores. Lord I know You are a Sovereign God.  I know You can help me through all things.  Help me to always understand my job here on this earth You have given to me.  Help me to always understand that You can take that away at any time.  Help me to be the servant as James talks about in these verses.  Help me to have the patience that I need, to have the perfect work so that I may be perfect and entire wanting Nothing.

AMEN!

Leave a Reply

