Friendship

Posted: January 10, 2015 in Life

Friendships mean more to me than a lot of things in life.  Your friends are always there for you when needed, they give advice, they laugh with you (and at you), they bring joy to your heart.  In my lifetime I have met very FEW people that I would consider an “ALL STAR” friend.  The kind of friend that would not just take your side because she is your friend, but the kind of friend that would see all sides of a story and give advice.  The kind of friend that would not sugar coat it to let you hear what you wanted to hear. The kind of friend that you can tell your deepest secrets with and not worry about her going and telling the world.  The kind of friend that brings scripture in the advice that they give.  The kind of friend that would just sit and listen; rather than jump at every pause to say what she wants to say. The kind of friend that would be there at any cost.  She is the kind of friend that would take her shirt off her own back to make sure you are warm and not care about herself.

I have a very close friend just how I described above. Her name is Karen.  She is an amazing Godly friend.  The kind of friend that will do everything in her power to get the right answers.  And if she don’t have the answer she is not afraid to just admit it.  A friendship shows each other that you will go out of the way for someone.  You think about them and pray for them.

.

John 15:13 says “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

Me and Karen H

Here recently I long for her friendship. I hate being 3 hours away. And since we have moved it is hard but not impractical for our friendship to continue. We both try our best to keep in touch by phone. Even a short text message from my dear friend lights up my day. When I was saved January 10, 2012 I was introduced to two of the finest people (Ty and Karen) I had ever met in my life. This week is our 3 years of an awesome and true friendship. God blessed me with the smile that you see on my face when you see me with Karen.

With all the above said, I hold a hurt in my heart. Even though Karen is the best friend anyone could ever have; I long for a friendship closer to home. We moved here in Tennessee 2 years ago. It is hard to make friends because you move into an area where everyone else is in their comfort zone. They have their lives, friendships, family all around them. But, I have no family, no one I could just call up and say “hey, how about we get together for lunch today?” Or just a simple text saying that I was thinking about them today. I have and will continue to pray for a close friendship. I know it will take time. I mean let’s face it, everyone gets comfortable with their already friends and are never really out looking for new friends. And I am not like most women. I don’t like to shop, I would rather go to a sporting event or go shoot guns. This is what makes it even harder. I have tried being that girl that likes getting her hair done, nails done, etc. But, I am not going to lie. The nails you can forget it, but I can do some hair time. HAHA. Shopping on the other hand, NO! Unless it is a craft store. Then I am all game! I guess I do have some girl in me.

I want that friendship that when we are together we don’t realize that we had walked 10 miles. (Karen, that day was so much fun.) That friend that will make me a better person when I am with her, and hopefully I would do the same for her. I need another accountability partner that will be determined to show up at my door to make sure that what I tell her I plan on doing is getting done.

What do you see in a true friendship?  What does your friendship mean to you?  What do you look for in a friendship?

Comments
  1. Kelly says:

    True friends are hard to find. I only have a handful of really good friends. Hold on to her girl. Good post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

