Sarai and Hagar

Posted: October 16, 2014 in Bible Studies

I started bible journaling.  My plan was to start the 1st of October and do 1 chapter at a time.  I honestly did not want to make it a public thing, as my human flesh gets in the way and wants to start something and not finish, but I have made it to the 16th of this month and all I can say is I AM LOVING MY BIBLE JOURNAL!!!! Below is a picture from todays chapter.

GENESIS 16

Genesis 16

Sarai and Abram wanted so much to have a child.  Sarai became desperate for a child that she told her husband to have a child through her servant, Hagar.  WHAT???  How many of you would go to that extreme?  You have married your husband and so in love.  You both decide you are wanting to add to the family.  You have tried for years.. 2,5,7…10!  And you found out you are not able to have a child.  You feel that your spouse is going to reject you.  You feel as your duty as a spouse is to fulfill every need and you can reproduce.  So you thought long and hard about what to do to make sure you keep your husband happy.  “Honey, I have been giving this a lot of thought and I am going to allow you to have another wife, my servant, so you can reproduce.”  Can you imagine the shock in Abram’s face?  “You want me to do what???”  I am sure it wasn’t an easy conversation.  But, I don’t think either one of them was thinking about what it would do to their marriage after Abram went and took Hagar as his wife.

Let’s ponder over this question… (This is how my brain works, YAY for me!)… You ever wonder… What if Hagar was not able to have children either??????  Now do understand at this time Sarai was old and so was Abram and Hagar was not.  Hagar was young.  But, so was Sarai at a point when they were trying to conceive.  Granted Hagar did end up pregnant, but what if she didn’t and you just allowed your HUSBAND to go sleep with another woman because you were TOO IMPATIENT with GOD!!!

 Hagar started to look down on Sarai when she realizes that she is pregnant.   Sarai became angry, irritable, jealous, (you fill in your word). I am pretty sure at this moment Sarai was wanting to rip Hagar’s head off.   Sarai told Abram, “May the wrong be done to me be on you!  I gave my servant to your embrace, and when she saw that she had conceived, she looked on me with contempt.  May the Lord judge between you and me!” (vs. 5)  Abram told Sarai is verse 6.. “Hey, it’s your servant, do whatever you want to her!” (My saying)

Imagine both case scenarios:

Hagar:  Wow, I am your wife too and your going to let her do whatever to me?  What a husband you are!! I am carrying YOUR child!  Don’t forget I am CARRYING YOUR BABY!!! A baby that your “other” wife can’t!!

Sarai:  SAAAWWWWWEEEETTTT!!!!  I am going to MAKE HER life miserable!!! I will teach her to look down on me!!!

At the end of verse 6 it tells us that Sarai was very harsh with Hagar.  To a point where Hagar could not take it anymore.  Hagar packed up and left.

Hagar was out in the wilderness alone.  I imagine her crying, scared, angry.  (Remember she is pregnant and her emotions are EVERYWHERE!!) She stopped by a spring of water and that is where an angel of the Lord found her.  The angel told her to go back and submit to Sarai.  I can’t imagine the thoughts Hagar was thinking at first. “You have got to be kidding me?  Did you not see what she has been doing to me?  I can’t live like that!”  Although the bible does not say Hagar said anything.  Hagar apparently was being quiet and listening to the angel of the Lord!  This is what the last wording of the angel of the Lord said to Hagar:

“Behold, you are pregnant

and shall bear a son.

You shall call his name Ishmael,

because the LORD has listened to your affliction.

He shall be a wild donkey of a man,

his hand against everyone

and everyone’s hand against him,

and he shall dwell over against all his kinsmen.”

Verse 11-12

Hagar headed back.  I am sure there was a lot of thoughts in her head.  I am sure she was praying to ask God to help her have the wisdom to handle Sarai.  “Sarai wasn’t going to be happy to see me!” I imagine her saying.  I often wonder what happened when Sarai saw Hagar in the distance headed back.   But, in verse 15, Hagar gave birth to a baby boy.  Abram named him Ishmael.  Oh, did I mention that Abram is 86 years old when Ishmael was born?  CRAZY!!!

This chapter is like a Jerry Springer episode.  Of course I have heard that episode has gotten a lot worse. (I will take everyone word on that.)  I could not imagine telling my husband to go sleep with another woman so he can have a child.  We can all learn something from this chapter.  How patient are you with God?  Do you ask of things to happen and since YOU think it is too late YOU take matters into your own hands?  That is what Sarai did and look what that got her; heartache, anger, jealousy, pain, guilt, etc.  The problem with Abram and Sarai is that they were searching for a child, instead of searching for God!

If you are in the process of wanting to have a baby; what an exciting adventure you are on!  You and your spouse being closer together than ever before.  You are loving each other for everything you have.  Let me do tell you this; if it does take longer than YOU want, don’t get discouraged. Because GOD has an AWESOME PLAN for you and your spouse.  First be obedient to GOD and HE will bless you with a child when the time is RIGHT!!!

Below are some pictures of my past bible journaling. ENJOY!! and have a blessed day!

Genesis 15 Genesis 11 Genesis 9 Genesis 8 Genesis 7 Genesis 6 Genesis 3 Genesis 2

Leave a Reply

