Tuesday-Week 5

Posted: August 19, 2014 in Bible Studies, Intentionally Focused

intentionally focused banner

 

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full. “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. These things I command you, so that you will love one another.

John 15:9-17

 

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”  John 15: 12-13

Latest-Love

This verse makes you want to look at your friends list don’t it?  LOL.  But, there is a catch…  Would you lay down your life for your friends/family?  Most would say YES in a heartbeat.  But, what if I asked this, Would you lay down your life for a neighbor, the person in line behind you in the grocery store, the annoying person in the movie theater, or maybe even the people you talk to at your own church??  Some would say yes, but majority of you would honestly say probably not.  Take a second and think about that….

God laid His life for ALL of us.  He laid down His life for the drug dealers, thieves, liars, cheaters, murderers, etc.  He laid His life down to save our souls. He was mocked, brutally whipped (I about 39 times), thorns shoved in His skull, forced to carry His cross that He would be crucified on.   He took the nails and was hung on the cross for your sins.  He then hung on that cross after all the brutalness from the Romans for 3 hours.  And THEN… He died.  If dying on a cross for our sins is not love then, What is??  

cross

LOVE (noun):  a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person.  (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

 Jesus has a strong AND constant affection for each and everyone of us.  He loves us when we do wrong and when we do good.  Like a parent with their children; We love our children when they do wrong.  But, with that love we show discipline.  Discipline is not an act to harm someone.  It is an act us parents take to teach our children right from wrong.  Just like Jesus did and still does.  

god_is_love

Is there someone you can name off right now who would lay their life down in place of yours?  I know one person already and He rose again and He is coming back to get us one day.  JESUS.  What are you doing to show your appreciation for His love He shows you?  Are you spending time with Jesus who loves you so much that HE died for you?  If you risked your life for someone out of love, wouldn’t you want to be shown love back?  What is stopping you from getting to know your heavenly Father?  What is holding your love for Him back?  What is holding back the love that you could show others in this cruel world?

Let’s get focused!  Where is your love flowing to?

Let’s show Jesus just how much we love Him for what He has and is still doing for us.

Much Love.

 

Leave a Reply

