Kicking and Screaming

Posted: May 25, 2014 in Life

blog5

When you are in a store and you hear that kid screaming from 4 aisles over and you can’t get out of the door fast enough, what are your first thoughts? Maybe “that kid is a little brat”, “what great parenting”, or maybe even “that is why I am not having kids!!” We don’t know what happened prior to the reaction of the child, but we are surely annoyed by it. Should we be?

blog

I look at this way… I have children and No my kids do not or ever have acted in that way in public. But, there is times where I get annoyed by the piercing of the ears scream that the little lung filled child possesses. I mean seriously they can put out some vocals to get their point across. But, in a child’s defense they don’t know the words to say to get their point across like us adults do. As adults we say things that we don’t mean when we are angry. As children we expressed it through our vocals. We both use our vocals, just in a different kind of way. But, there is a catch to us adults. We scream to get our point across through words as if the other person cannot hear us loud enough when we speak normally. (I have a bad habit of doing this.) As adults we get louder and louder to get our point across, Right? Just like that screaming child 4 aisles over. The child is getting their point across. Trust me, the ones that don’t have kids yet, it is embarrassing for us parents. I feel for those parents 4 aisles away. All they wanted to do was get some shopping done that they were not able to do the rest of the week. And I have heard the comments before- “She should have left the child at home!” What if she couldn’t do that? What if she wanted to surprise her husband for once to help spice up their marriage, or her husband is sick and can’t watch the child, or maybe she is a widow? We don’t know anyone else’s family story, so why be annoyed when she is simply just trying to do her job as a mother/wife?

blog4

This brings me to why I am talking about kids screaming. First, I want you to listen to the song Kicking and Screaming by Third Day…

blog6

Click link below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUtoo5-PauQ

I absolutely love this song. It has so much meaning of love for our heavenly Father. What would you do if you were pulled away from God? Would you go with the flow of this world so there is no fuss? Would you refuse to go?  Or, would you simply just start kicking and screaming like the high piercing, full lunged child I talked about earlier?

Here is part of the lyrics to the song…

I would go anywhere
As long as you are there
You know I’d do anything
As long as you’re with me
I would fight for you
If you want me too
I will not lie to you
Give my life for you

I need to be reminded daily that He is constantly with me. If I let Him into my heart and open my arms to let Him in, I CAN/WILL do ANYTHING for HIM!! Will you go anywhere? Would you do ANYTHING? Would you fight for Him? Would you give YOUR LIFE FOR GOD?

I can’t help but have a visual of someone taking me away from God and giving them my version of throwing a tantrum like a child does that annoys people in public. The KICKING and SCREAMING and THROWING MYSELF ON THE FLOOR kind of tantrum. (In all honesty, I would have great JOY in throwing that tantrum.) My question to you and myself would be…

If someone was about to strike you/me with a whip, would your love for God be strong enough to turn the other cheek? Would you/me be able to stay strong and faithful with God through the turmoil that we would go through? Really think about that question. There will be a day that we will have to be strong with our faith. How are we to spread God’s love if we don’t trust Him through our pain and suffering? We can’t help someone else, if we question God’s work in our life. Everyone’s life is different. One person may be blessed with the big house and creativeness. But, that does not mean that we get depressed about their traits. God has His plan for your life, and it is just as important as the next person. It may not look important to you, but it is to God.  Next time you are in a store and see the mom with the screaming kid, think of something to help.  She may just need an adult to tell her she is doing a great job.

This week focus on your Faith. Are you Galatians 5:22-23 strong?

Galatians 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

Here is a couple more verses to put on our hearts:

Romans 15:7 “Therefore receive one another, just as Christ also received us, to the glory of God.”

Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

Colossians 3:2 “Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.”

Proverbs 4:23 “Keep your heart with all diligence, For out of it spring the issues of life.”

James 3:18 “Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.”

Leave a Reply

