Crazy Love Chapter 8

Posted: May 5, 2014 in Crazy Love Study

crazy love

Obsessed: To have the mind excessively preoccupied with a single emotion or topic.

I am going to be doing this blog a little different than the others. It will be an outline similar to how Chapter 8 was written.  Here we go, let’s get obsessed!!!! SHALL WE?!……

Lovers– How did this section hit you, between the eyes, unexpected slap in the right cheek?  I think we can all honestly say that we play the nice card role when it comes being called a “Christian”.  We automatically think that, like Chan says, “If we are nice, people will know that we are Christians and want to know more about Jesus.”  I personally was nice to everyone I came in contact with before I was saved.  Not one person asked me about Jesus just because I was “nice”.  That is not how our lives are supposed to be either.  In Luke 6:32-36, it talks about how we should love our enemies and do well for them.  God also tells us that there are nice “sinners”, and “sinners” are nice to each other.  God wants us to LOVE our enemies.  How many of you have an enemy?  Or maybe not an enemy but someone who just gets on your nerves?  We should LOVE them also. God Does.

 RISK TAKERS– What did you think of Chan talking about safety prayer?  We are all in fascinated by safety.  I can honestly say, I constantly ask for safety for me and my family, in fact I have been rarely asking Him to help bring me closer to Him???????

FRIENDS OF ALL– Have you ever sat back and looked at your friends list?  What kind of friends do you have?  Do they all have everything that they need?  Do you have a friend or two that are in NEED of things?  Are you ashamed of having friends that don’t have a house, car, nice T.V., etc.?  What if you had a friend who does not have a car, many shoes, many clothes, or a house?  Would you lose the friends you have now for having a friend that needs you so much to show Jesus’ love?  This week check your friends list…

obsessed

CRAZY ONES-What did you think about the story of Chan selling his house and down-sizing after he returned from Africa?  He moved his family in a much smaller house so he could GIVE MORE to GOD!!!!! Here are his quotes about him down-sizing and people calling him crazy about it… “Am I the crazy one for selling my house? Or are you for not giving more, serving more, being with your Creator more?”  Or how about these quotes… “If one person “wastes” away his day by spending hours connecting with God, and the other person believes he is too busy or has better things to do than worship the Creator and Sustainer, who is the crazy one?”  What things in your life has God given you, and are you sacrificing for GOD?  What kind of things could you change?

THE HUMBLE– Did you have flash backs on being the humble one when you talk about GOD? I found myself being proud to know God and when others don’t get in the bible I get upset.  I compare them to me, and this is something I personally struggle with. What I should be doing is glorifying God for my knowledge of what I do know about Him.  I should be thanking Him for allowing me to understand His words so quickly, And to be able to change overnight to live for Him.  Not a lot of people can change like I did and I am grateful for that gift He gave me. But, I need to remember that not everyone can change as quickly as I did. And for that I am humbled to God for my changes because that is all Him not me.

SOJOURNERS– Remember reading about Grandma Clara?  Chan asked if she liked the play they were at and do you remember her answer?  She said, “Oh honey, I really don’t want to be here right now.”  And she went on saying because “I just don’t know if this is where I want to be when Christ returns. I’d rather be helping someone or on my knees praying. I don’t want Him to return and find me sitting in a theatre.”  How did that go through your head?  Made me really think about my life, am I doing things every day that God would be satisfied?  Would He really want me sitting around watching T.V. or learning more about Him?  What if Christ came right now, would He be grateful for what you are doing right this second?

I am going to end this chapter here.  It was a lot, I know.  I want you to continue to look over this and think about your own life, not your spouse, kids, family.  You will face God alone on judgment day, not your friend, parents, and spouse for you.  Be wholly surrendered to God.  I pray that you imagine your own life and what it looks like.

Watch video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyDKrI4o0QA

Worksheet – Chapter 8

Leave a Reply

