1 John Chapter 1

Posted: February 11, 2014 in Bible Studies

1 John

I am reading 1-3 John for this week for my spiritual goal, and thought I would share my thoughts.  Please, if you have anything you would like to share, Please DO!!!!  Again these are just my thoughts and I am by all means, not perfect.  I just want to share what is on my heart and hope I can help others along the way.  God Bless!

 

1 John Chapter 1

1 John 1:7 “But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.”

1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Facts from this passage

Who- Father, Jesus Christ, us

What- If we deceive ourselves, we call God a liar.

When- From the beginning through the present and future.

Where- Our Hearts

Why- This passage gives us a warning for our hearts.

1 John 2

Lessons from this passage

  1. We have proof (witnesses, eyes, touch, eternal life, word)
  2. God is the light, He has NO darkness.
  3. If we walk in darkness, but say we fellowship we are liars.
  4. If we walk in the light, like Him, we are with one another and are cleansed from our sins.
  5. If we say we don’t sin, we deceive ourselves.
  6. If we confess our sins, He will wash all unrighteousness away.

 

1 John 1

Application

 

Lord, Help heal my heart.  Help me find the strength that You have provided me with.  I go off track a lot and I don’t want to lose my lighted path.  Why is it that our human nature is scared of the dark but we lean towards our selfish ways (which is darkness)?  Why is it that I cannot keep my light burning bright?  I let darkness take my light and I become fragile (Like a child in the night).  Help me have the wisdom to keep my light shining.  Remind me when it starts to turn into a nightlight to lean toward You and make the sun shine in.  Forgive me for my anger, selfishness, control, bitterness.  I am ready for my consequences.  I want to change my heart Oh God.  Turn my heart into Yours.  Take it over, I ca not do this anymore.  Thank You Lord for Your patience with me.  And being such a forgiving God.

Love and AMEN

Leave a Reply

