90 Day Challenge-Day 19

Posted: February 7, 2014 in 90 day Challenge

weight loss challenge

 

Yet another week has gone by and I have been researching on some other blogs that are about getting healthy as well.  Do you ever feel like you are losing your motivation?  Do you feel like you are getting slower and slower as you go along your day?  Here is a blog I just happened to come across and wanted to share with you.  Her name is Shelia and her blog page is…

http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/2014/01/stay-motivated-to-lose-weight/

On her page she talks about each of the 10 things she listed.  I wrote down some things for each category.

 1.       Wear Clothes That Fit that You Feel Good In

I know we all want to get in that pair of skinny jeans or tank top.  But, if you wear them and don’t feel comfortable, your posture is going to be slouchy throughout the day.  Wear something that is going to make you stand up tall and feel good about yourself.

pamper

2.       Pamper Your Body

Really take some time to rub in that lotion on your body after your hot steamy shower.  We need the moisture for our body. Especially right now (Its winter as I write this).  Sit in your room with just the candles lit and just relax your mind.  Make your alone time with God with some candles lit and time for soothing and meditation.  Candles are an awesome feeling of calmness.

3.       Pretend You’re at a Job (If You’re Not)

How often do people work harder at work than they do at home?  We seem to always work harder at our “jobs” because we want that promotion, raise, time off, or whatever it is to impress the boss.  We should be continuing to work just as hard outside of work as well.  If we are working hard at everything we will take that extra time of pampering our bodies.

4.       Do Things Faster

Me personally I feel this links with #3.  When you have gained weight or feel unhealthy that day we tend to move slower.  But if we keep moving fast and getting things done, we tend to stay focused on our health.

5.       Stand More

I have heard this several times in my life.  I have also heard that if you are standing instead of sitting you are burning more calories.  Take time to stand longer every day.  Grab a book and stand for half the chapter, or do like Shelia did and make a higher desk area in the kitchen for your laptop.  Burn those calories while you’re on Facebook, Instagram, Blogging, or whatever you get on your computer for.

6.       Identify ONE big change you can make

Always set goals.  Make them small and work your way up.  Every Monday on my 90 Day Challenge Blog I put the goals to try for that week.  I make them small and work our way up.  If you don’t want to do the goals I have make your own up.  Share your goals, you may have some that no one else has thought of and would like to try.

7.       Set a Reward

And NO I am NOT saying if you lose a pound you may have that bowl of ice cream.  Give yourself time.  Say after you lose 5 pounds I am going to reward myself with a pedicure.  Try NOT to make your reward about food.  We are to CRAVE GOD remember not food.

STRETCH

8.       Stretch

I cannot stress this enough.  When you are working out, we get sore.  If you are sitting and watching TV take the time to stretch.  We need to stretch our muscles.  Stretching should always be part of our daily routine.  It helps prevent injuries, and also those dreadful cramps.  Ever get a Charlie horse?  They are not comforting and then you are more than likely not going to work out again.  You will always remember the pain not the results you will get if you stick with it, so always be stretching.  If you do a 30 minute workout, make sure you do about 5 minutes of stretching AFTER your workout.  NEVER stretch cold muscles.  Also Yoga stretches can be very beneficial. It may not make you skinnier, but stretching can improve your posture and then you will look thinner and carry yourself like a thin person.

9.       Make Love

We have heard it all before.  But, along with your workout, meditations, stretching, make love to your spouse.  That is more calories to burn.  Making love makes your body feel amazing.  You can even make this into pampering time with your spouse.  This will keep your marriage on fire and your body feeling wonderfully and beautifully made.

focus

10.   Focus on the Long Haul

If you are wanting to lose 20 pounds or more, don’t assume you will lose it in a month.  These pills and diet programs are false.  If you are going to do it healthy take your time.  Focus on 2-5 pounds a month.  I know when you start working out you want it gone NOW.  But, something that is hard for me… BE PATIENT.  Getting healthy takes time and dedication.  You must be focused and ready for the trials to come.

Make sure you go to Shelia’s blog.  She explains her 1-10 and I am sure she has points that I did not cover that can help you.  I want to end today with some bible verses.

James 1:2-4 “consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (Think of those skinny jeans reading this verse)

Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Think of those cramps, pain your muscles feel)

Psalm 5:1-3 Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my sighing.  Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.” (Think about replacing your cravings)

Leave a Reply

