90 Day Challenge-Day 9

Posted: January 29, 2014 in 90 day Challenge

weight loss challenge

James 3:16- “For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work”.

envy

Do you ever envy the lady at the store?  She is in her yoga attire, fit, a smile on her face, kids that are behaving properly, and her cart has healthy food in it.  You’re thinking to yourself, where did I go wrong? What have I done to get where I am?  Why does she have to be so “perfect”?  Do you start becoming bitter towards her?  You want to just take your cart and just storm towards her and throw a whole cake at her?  Tell her how much you dislike her, out of rage because she “looks” like you want to look, and you want her to not look so “perfect”.  Maybe you want to rearrange her face so she won’t look so pretty so your spouse won’t look her way? (Kidding)

poison-envy-POSTER-SM

Envy does some awful things to our bodies.  You may not know it but it can turn into depression, hatred, etc.  This is exactly how the enemy works on you, but always remember you are not alone.  I used to think this way.  And there are times when it does cross my mind, but me stopping and giving it to God I have learned that He loves me for who I am and what I look like.  I used to let it haunt me.  When my husband and I first met I was skinnier, I wore a size 7, and I was physically fit. This was just in 2012. (I was NOT spiritually fit though.)  I look around and see other women who are my “used to be size” and I wonder if my husband wants me to look like that again.  Granted my husband always says he loves me for who I am, and does not care what I look like.  He can tell me that all day and I don’t listen to him, I always say, “yeah, whatever!”

To help me through this, as I am sure many women more than men go through this, I have dug into scripture, started working out again, and really Craving God.  The only way I can describe the energy I have received is God has given me the power to do this.  God has changed my heart from depression, regret, sorrow, lack of motivation, no confidence to Love, compassion, strength, ability, motivation, confidence, happiness, and I am even enjoying the workout.  Now don’t get me wrong I do have my days when I would rather just not exercise, but once I am at the gym I get this motivation that I did not know I had.  I wish I could explain, but all I can say is that I have just leaned and prayed to God for everything.

My challenge to you for the rest of the week is:

Every time you feel that emptiness-Grab your bible.  (Look for emptiness verses)

Every time you feel the pain-Grab your bible.  (Look for pain verses.)

Every time you just don’t want to do what you need to do- Grab your bible. (Look up motivation verses.)

listen-to-the-word-of-god1

Here are some bible verses that I have used and have helped me through my struggles.  Also, when you’re at church, REALLY listen to the pastor.  God has been really opening my heart and eyes and ears to listen and I have heard him talk to me in every passage.  Even through my blogs, bible study, and just through conversations.  He knows exactly when you need the message also.  Trust me I have been asking Him for this strength for about 2 years now and He is answering my prayers.  But, I am LISTENING to Him.  Always keep your heart open to Him so you are always ready to listen.  If you REALLY want to get healthy and fit and are ready to open your heart to Him, you will get there, HE WILL HELP YOU have the STRENGTH to do so.

James 5:8– Be ye also patient: stablish your hearts: for the coming of the Lord draweth nigh.

Psalm 1:2– But his delight is in the law of the Lord: And in his law doth he meditate day and night.

Isaiah 58:2– Yet they seek Me daily, and delight to know my ways, as a nation that did righteousness, and forsook not the ordinance of their God: they ask of me the ordinance of justice they take delight in approaching to God.

1 Corinthians 10:13–  There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able, but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Proverbs 3:5-6– Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.

James 3:2– For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body.

Ephesians 4:32– And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

Galatians 1:10– For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men?  For if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

Psalm 73:22-26– So foolish was I, and ignorant: I was a beast before thee. Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.  Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.  Whom have I in heaven but thee? And there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.  My flesh and my heart faileth; but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10– And he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distress, for Christ’s sake.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 11:3– But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtility, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.

Leave a Reply

