Smoothie Recipes

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Recipes

choc

Chocolate Banana Smoothie

recipe ingredients
8 oz. lowfat milk
1 ripe banana, in chunks
2 packets sweetener
1 T. unsweetened cocoa powder (or to taste)
2-3 ice cubes (omit if banana is frozen)
1/8 tsp vanilla (optional)
1 T smooth lowfat peanut butter (optional)

pb banana

Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

recipe ingredients

8 oz skim milk
1/3 small banana
1 tbsp reduced fat peanut butter
2 sweet n’ low or other sugar substitute
5 ice cubes

Peanut Butter Smoothie

recipe ingredients

1 banana, frozen, cut in chunks
2 Tbsp. reduced fat creamy peanut butter
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup frozen vanilla yogurt or fat free ice cream

Ultimate Power Smoothie 
(number of Powerfoods: 5)

1 cup 1 percent milk
2 tablespoons low-fat vanilla yogurt
3/4 cup instant oatmeal (nuked in water)
2 teaspoons peanut butter
2 teaspoons whey chocolate powder
6 ice cubes, crushed

wild-berry-smoothie-recipe

Here is a challenge if you are up for it.  Its a 5 day challenge.  I have done this once and I believe I will be doing it again.

Day 1: I made a smoothie of 2 cups blueberries, 1/2 a banana, 2 big handfuls of spinach and 1 cup of water

Day 2: I made a smoothie of 2 apples (one gala and one granny smith), 2 big handfuls of spinach, 1 cup water and 1/2 cup crushed ice. This one was much more grassy in taste. It wasn’t bad, but this was my least favorite. I did like the tart taste that the granny smith apple added to it.

Day 3: I made a smoothie of 1 cup raspberries, 1/3 cup coconut flakes, 2 big handfuls of spinach and 1 cup water. This was one of my favorites as I love the combination of raspberries and coconut. It was almost dessert like-it was so good!

Day 4: I made a smoothie of 1 1/2 cups sliced peaches, 2 big handfuls of spinach, 1 tablespoon honey, 1/4 cup raw oats and 1 cup water. I have seen folks include oats in smoothies before and I wanted to see what it was like-it’s good! This smoothie really made me feel full and the addition of a little honey was a sweet treat.

Day 5: I made a smoothie of 1 cup fresh pineapple chunks, 1/2 a banana, 2 big handfuls of spinach and 2 cups water. This was probably my favorite smoothie from the whole week-the pineapple made it super refreshing!

smoothie recipe

These pictures are not what some of these will look like.  I took them off of smoothie images. (Just so you know)

All berries and the peaches were frozen and slightly thawed before use. If you put the greens on bottom before blending  it helps it blend better. And even though I had smoothies with spinach every day for 5 days it never felt boring because there are just so many combinations to try. If you decide to do this challenge leave  a comment with any new smoothie combinations you discover, or if you already have a favorite!

Leave a Reply

