90 day challenge-Day 3

Posted: January 23, 2014 in 90 day Challenge

weight loss challenge

So how is everyone doing on this week’s goal?  Caught ya and you thought I forgot…..  Well if you forgot what it was it was to drink at least 2 glasses of water a day.  Hope you are trying your best to accomplish that.  Think of it as 2 steps closer to GOD and 2 HUGE steps AWAY from that enemy.

Here is my “tub” that I try to drink daily….

Water

 Notice it is still filled to the top?  It is in the late afternoon and I have had a sip.  Water is about all I do drink, but I don’t get enough (liquid period) throughout the day.  I just get so caught up in life, like, figuring out my blog, email, homeschooling, supper, laundry, cleaning, taking care of dog,(this is when I take a deep breath and finish what I am saying) Facebook, alone time with God, bible study with family, and oh I better take a shower after hopefully squeezing in gym time.  Ever feel like there is not enough time in a day.  Sometimes I feel that there was no way that was 24 hours, that had to be 6!!!!  I just am not sure what happens to the time.

I have an app (Noom Coach) that I use for when I exercise and it talks about how life gets too busy.  The app actually keeps track of everything, your goal, weight, what you have eaten, even if you exercise on treadmill or outside.  It is about right on the treadmill, but I still go by the machine I am on instead.

 Here is what it says (I found it very interesting)…

Life Happens- Never forget Murphy’s Law: everything that can go wrong, will go wrong.  Sometimes life just happens, and there is nothing you can do about that. You will miss workouts due to family emergencies, traffic jams, injuries, or faulty alarm clocks.  The best thing to do is recognize that things like that WILL happen, accept it, and do your best to make sure that missed workouts are exceptions, not the rule.

Some strategies to keep you on track:

  • Accept that life happens, but strive hard to make sure that the missed workouts don’t become too frequent.
  • Don’t double down on the next workout.  You can push a bit harder the next time you exercise, but don’t do a double to make up.  Often, it can leave you feeling sore, and in turn more likely to miss more workouts over the coming day as a result!
  • Make it a priority to work out tomorrow if you’ve missed a workout, or haven’t worked out in 3 days.
  • Set a minimum exercise baseline of walking for at least 10 minutes every single day. In addition to regular workouts.

Remember:  Losing weight and getting fit are long-term projects.  There will be bumps in the road, but long-term consistency is the key.

(Even if you are not reading the made to crave book, I hope you take the time to read the Made to Crave parts, it’s so good.  If you can’t follow along now I recommend this book to help you crave more God than food. )

Made to Crave Day 3… Read Chapter 2

What did you think about when Lysa said “Is it possible we love and rely on food more than we love and rely on God?”  Did you want to just throw your book and cry out to God and tell Him how foolish you are to do such a thing? Or did you just want to punch Lysa if you see her?  NOW Be honest!!!! I honestly was a little of both.  She is so right!  But, in order to crave God I needed to fess up to craving food.  I needed to get verbal about it.  I rely on food more than I rely on God.  Now, take a second and let that soak in and then say it OUTLOUD!! Seriously out loud, if you have to go to the other room.  Now, how did that feel rolling off the tongue?  If does not sound so good does it?  Food was my reward; it was my happiness, my escape.  When I had/have struggles that is what I turned to-FOOD.  I didn’t turn to God. (Feeling Ashamed)  When I admitted that to my husband I felt sick to my stomach.  I felt ashamed, worthless, and stupid, like I have spiritually failed.  Lysa talks about the same thing she went through.  She also made a point that sticks out to me, God’s chosen people.  The Israelites, when they wanted food more than they wanted God: “They willfully put God to the test by demanding the food they craved.” (Psalm 78:18)  Did you catch that?  They DEMANDED GOD food????????  WOW, weren’t they bold.  But, look what happened to them, they wandered for 40 years. Not 40 hours, not 40 days, not even 40 months, 40 YEARS!! God was leading them to the Promised Land, and they blew it.  Just like me and you on a daily basis, if we continue our path of relying on food more than God think about wandering for 40 years asking the question why me Lord?  Why?  Think about the Israelites, I bet they even asked God why.

God is the ONLY one who knows what our future is.  WE DO NOT KNOW!!! We need to start living for today instead of living for a year from now.  Because like the Israelites, we may not ever know what the “promised land” that God has planned for us, if we don’t crave HIM instead of food.

Think about these couple things the rest of this week:

  1.   Use the cravings as a prompt to pray.
  2. Ask this question, do I love and rely on food more than I love and rely on God?
  3. Reflect on these 4 verses

1 Corinthians 3:3– “for you are still carnal.  For where there are envy, strife, and divisions among you, are you not carnal and behaving like mere men?

1 Corinthians 3:16-17-Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?  If anyone defiles the temple of God, God will destroy him.  For the temple of God is holy, which temple you are.”

1 Corinthians 4:4-13-For I know of nothing against myself, yet I am not justified by this; but He who judges me is the Lord. Therefore judge nothing before the time, until the Lord comes, who will both bring to light the hidden things of darkness and reveal the counsels of the hearts. Then each one’s praise will come from God.

Fools for Christ’s Sake

Now these things, brethren, I have figuratively transferred to myself and Apollos for your sakes, that you may learn in us not to think beyond what is written, that none of you may be puffed up on behalf of one against the other. For who makes you differ from another? And what do you have that you did not receive? Now if you did indeed receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it?

You are already full! You are already rich! You have reigned as kings without us—and indeed I could wish you did reign, that we also might reign with you! For I think that God has displayed us, the apostles, last, as men condemned to death; for we have been made a spectacle to the world, both to angels and to men.10 We are fools for Christ’s sake, but you are wise in Christ! We are weak, but you are strong! You are distinguished, but we are dishonored! 11 To the present hour we both hunger and thirst, and we are poorly clothed, and beaten, and homeless. 12 And we labor, working with our own hands. Being reviled, we bless; being persecuted, we endure; 13 being defamed, we entreat. We have been made as the filth of the world, the offscouring of all things until now.

Paul’s Paternal Care

14 I do not write these things to shame you, but as my beloved children I warn you.”

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who IS in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your won?  For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. “

Leave a Reply

