Doubt

Posted: January 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

doubt

Have you ever heard the saying, “When in doubt, ask.”?  

Doubt comes out when you least expect it.  It sneaks up on you.  Doubt grabs at your feet and tries to hang on.  There are days when you kick it off, but then the next hour/day/week it starts again.  I have had those days when doubt snuck up on me. (More days than one)  I have threw that 2 year old tantrum you see other parents going through with their kids at Walmart for not getting what they wanted in my mind.  (Don’t act like you don’t know)   All of us are guilty of feeling doubtful for something.  Whether it is a cake you have to make that your friend has faith in you to do it, but you don’t want to disappoint her. Or, your kid playing ball and you know your kid can’t run to the right base after hitting the ball, or you doubt God will save a friend, give you peace in your heart, help you find the strength you need to get through today, or maybe changing your spouse???

Doubt- Noun: 1. a feeling of uncertainty or lack of conviction.

              Verb:  1. Feel uncertain about.

  • Question the truth or fact of (something).
  • Disbelieve (a person or their word).
  • Feel uncertain, esp. about one’s religious beliefs.
  • Verb:  2. fear; be afraid of.

Doubt comes from many different emotions.  Doubt can start small and work its way up your doubtful ladder and all of a sudden depression kicks in.  I personally know the feeling.  Most people in this world do.  Most people including myself at times doubt our own abilities.  There is a story in the bible that I have done a study on.  The story is about Gideon.  He was threshing grain in a winepress, a pit in the ground, so the marauding Midianites did not see him.  God appeared to Gideon as an angel and said, “The Lord is with you, mighty warrior.” (Judges 6:12) Gideon proceeded to ask God “if the Lord is with us, why has all this happened to us?”  Gideon even said the Lord abandoned them and was given in hand to Midian.  The Lord told Gideon to “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian’s hand. Am I not sending you?”  (Judges 6:14)   I don’t know about you but I would be saying you’re kidding right?  There has to be someone better than me!!!  But, God didn’t want someone better.  He wanted an ordinary guy that was not all juiced up on steroids to save His people.

Gideon would not just take Gods word and say alright I will be on my way.  Gideon was pleading with God.  Saying If You (God) do this then, I will believe you. (Putting out a fleece and making it wet then not wet) But, Gideon did not ask just once he asked him twice.  Then Gideon had his huge army, but God reduced their number to only 300 men.  God did this so there would be no doubt that victory was from the Lord, not from the army’s might.  Gideon won the fight and it was through God’s power they defeated the Midianites.

GIDEON’S WEAKNESSES:  At the beginning he was weak and consistently needing proof from God.  He doubted that he could save Israel.

GIDEON’S STRENGTHS:  He was slow to believe, but once he was convinced of God’s power, he was a loyal follower who obeyed the Lord’s instructions.  He was a natural leader of the men.

So what can we learn out of Gideon’s story and doubting?  God can accomplish great things through us IF we FORGET our weaknesses and follow HIS guidance.  “Putting out a fleece,” or testing God, is a sign of weakness in faith.  Sin always has consequences.  But, instead of having the consequences later, why don’t we just listen to God instead of testing HIM?  If you are having doubts of something give it to God.  Ask Him what to do.  Psalm 73 I go to and read when doubt enters my heart.  Psalm 73: 26-28 says “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Those who are far from you will perish; you destroy all who are unfaithful to you. But as for me, it is good to be near God. I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.”  That is the very end of Psalm 73 but, the ending smacks me in the face and my doubt away every time.

I hope during this blog that you found some security with the Lord.  I hope you feel that emptiness called doubt subside from you.  Please take the time to click on the link to listen to a song that helps with doubt.  It is called Who am I by Casting Crowns. God has a plan for you every day; it’s up to you to listen to Him with NO DOUBT. Just ASK GOD!!!!

Leave a Reply

